Fireman William McQuillan

I was wondering if anyone had any information about William McQuillan, a fireman on Titanic. He is buried at Fairview cemetery in Halifax.

Thanks
Melissa

William McQuillan, 26-years-old, was born in Belfast, the son of William and Ann McQuillan. He was married to Margaret, they resided in Belfast and had one daughter, Annie; their son James was born shortly after William died.
McQuillan was part of the crew who delivered Titanic to Southampton from Belfast and signed on again for the maiden crossing.

Hi Chris,
Thank you for your information. It is very helpful I am wondering though if I could stretch the friendship and ask if you know where I can find more about him. I'm only new at this research caper and are very interested in finding out more about William.

Thanks Again
Melissa

William was my great-uncle. My gran died without knowing that her brothers' body had been re-covered. Can anyone explain why the bodies were not re-patriated? Also, does anyone know whether the identification photographs still exist?

Of all the identified crew bodies, only one was returned to England. I believe this is probably because the decedents' families could not afford to ship them back, and I don't believe White Star was footing the bill for it. Apparently the family of steward Arthur Lawrence, the one crewman shipped home, was well off enough to pay such expenses.

Nigel,
I am sorry to hear that your Gran didn't know whether William was re-covered or not. I am not sure if the identifaction photos still exist, but i am trying to find a photo of William. Do you know where i can get one? I am doing some research on him and i am interested in knowing what he looked like. If you could help it would be great.
Thanks
Melissa

Chris,