Bridge Etiquette

This is another one, more or less directed at Captain Erik Wood, although I'd be interested in what anyone has to say on the subject.

In the section of TAOS that describes the sinking of the Titanic Lightoller mentions that off-duty officers were not welcome on the bridge. While I think I understand why this would be, a professional comment on the subject would be welcome

Pat W.

I know this post is old by 5 years, but I do have a little to add. Now I am NO proffesional in the maritime business by I am a Sea Scout serving on Sea Scout Ship 39 in the USA. When people are not on duty it is not liked for them to be on the important bridge as it clutters the space and it is better to have just the set people on duty instead of onlookers. But again, I am NOT a professional seaman.

>>But again, I am NOT a professional seaman.<<

Perhaps not, but you pretty much got it right. Proper bridge operations are critical to the ship's safety and the last thing they need is for people to be houseguesting around and causing a distraction. If you have no business there, then you're expected to be somewhere else.

As a professional: the bridge is where you work. It's no different than any other work place. A workmate who can't stay away has a reason for being there and it's not cause he's lonely and it certainly won't be to admire your work!

In James Cameron's 1997 film--TITANIC, there's a scene for which Thomas Andrews (Victor Garber) is seen on the bridge...showing the Caledon Hockley Party touring the ship.

Was this kinda thing vogue in those days to take passengers onship tours about the ship...and to bring them to the bridge?

>>Was this kinda thing vogue in those days to take passengers onship tours about the ship...and to bring them to the bridge?<<