Builders Specifications Mentioned by Eaton and Haas

In the book Titanic: Triumph and Tragedy Eaton and Haas mention a builders' specification book for Titanic. They describe it as a document of more than 300 pages, containing elaborate instructions for fitting out Titanic.

I have contacted Harland & Wolff and the sales rep tells me they do not have this book.

I really want one! Does anyone have any ideas about where I might find it, or how to contact Eaton and Haas so I can ask where they found it?

Thanks in advance!

Best Wishes,

Cathy

Hi Cathy!

I have no first-hand knowledge of this specific document and I may be displaying my ignorance. However, from what I have heard in the past the document is in a private collection. Messrs. Eaton and Haas were allowed to look at it briefly when they were writing their book, but I do not know whose collection it is in.

As an aside, the detailed quote they relate about the two 'millionaire's suites' as they have become known belongs to *Britannic.* Possibly the book they saw was, therefore, not exclusive to Titanic but a generic document. Cunard's initial specifications for Lusitania and Mauretania were extraordinary similar, from what I remember reading.

I doubt this has helped -- I'm sorry I could not be of much assistance.

Best regards,

Mark.

Cathy,

As far as I have been able to determine, a Titanic specifications book did not, and does not, exist. From what I've been able to piece together, Titanic was built largely from change notes to the original Olympic material. A Britannic specifications book does exist, which I find is the basis for a majority of the rumours circulating about a Titanic book.

Parks

Hi!