Captain Smith Inexperienced?

Hello, I am new to this board so please forgive me if I am not doing something right.

I recently visited the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic in Halifax Nova Scotia. In the Titanic display there was a picture of Captain Smith with the following text next to it:

“Smith was about to retire from a long career on North Atlantic liners. Unfortunately, his experience had been on ships half the size of Titanic, so he was ill equipped to handle, or evacuate, a ship of her size.”

I have read a lot about the Titanic but have never read anything about Captain Smith like that. I am by no means an expert on the Titanic, just an enthusiast so I was wondering if any of you, who are more knowledgeable have heard this mentioned before? I always thought very highly of Captain Smith and would hate people who are unfamiliar with him or the Titanic, to be misinformed. Any further information would be appreciated.

Annette

Attachments

• IMG_6260.jpeg
    IMG_6260.jpeg
    410.6 KB · Views: 48
Smith alone had experience with ships of Titanic's size, as Olympic's commander.
Exactly. And since the Olympic class of ships were significantly larger and had different types of power plants compard with their nearest competitors at the time - the Curnarders Mauretania & Lusitania -, it can be said that Edward Smith was the only Captain who had the experience to take command of the Titanic on its maiden voyage.

Captain Smith may of had the experience of Titanic size through sailing the sister ship Olympic. But do not under estimate others senior officers who have sailed under Smith on Olympic who have gain experience of a ship that size to.