Deck Plating thicknesses

So, I am new here, and I would like to first say hello to everyone, and that I am excited to hopefully be able to utilize this resource quite a bit.

Secondly, my question. I am a student of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering (sophomore), and for our CAD class, our final project is a midship section. I have decided to reproduce Titanic's, and I most of the necessary information, save for a couple things:

1) the deck thicknesses of the roof of the boat deck house at amidships, the boat deck, A Deck, F deck, and G deck

2)the dimensions of the Web frames for all decks.

If anyone can supply this information, or knows of a (free) reliable source I would be very appreciative. If not, I could do my best to use the dimensions I have to determine the rest.

Thanks a bunch!

Welcome aboard!

Look at the Titanic Research & Modeling site. There is a research article on “Titanic’s Blueprints”, some of the snippets there may reveal some of the thicknesses. "The Shipbuilder" and "Engineering" journals also describe plating and web frames in the text sections.

Bill

Hey Bill,

Thanks- I have read the TRMA Article on the blueprints, and I have read "the Shipbuilder"'s articles- how might I find the "Engineering" articles? I looked for them online, but I couldn't find it...

Thanks again!

Ben

I’ve just mentioned part of finding Engineering in Joe Burgard’s thread on Recip Engine Plans. Look in the online catalogues of the City or University libraries near you. This will be under Journal or Periodical Titles. The (London 1866- ) reference will help separate it from many other hits, a magazine of the same title was published in New York during this era.