Harris describes artifacts from latest expedition

Bob,

Thank you for posting this & the other news re: RMST's work. I find the news of what they're finding fascinating but I can't help worrying that this is all wrong. If only these items could be put into safekeeping by a REPUTABLE museum - and taken out of the hands of persons employed by the salvage group, I'd feel much better about what they're doing. How do we know these things will be PRESERVED and not eventually sold? What will happen to all these things if the company dissolves one day? I mean, how can we trust a group that, no matter how high-tech & 21st century, is still really only a bunch of pirates?

Randy

Randy:

I am only a writer -- hopefully a journalist who's job is to report the information about the story.

At the risk of losing my objectivity -- this forum is the place to opine about the issues. I have spoken to both sides and tried to objectively present their version of the truth.

It is up to you, the informed and interested public, to venture opinions about the issues.

It seemed to me that Mr. Harris was being castigated without a chance to respond. His opinion and Mr. Geller's have merit.

Bob Mervine

In regards for the new feild of debris found 700 meters from the wreck, this actually re-inforces my opinion that what is needed for the exploration of the wreck are properly trained marine archaeologists and marine engineers to handle the forensics. This find could shed some light on a wealth of useful technical information in doing an analysis of the sinking itself...but let the salvage vultures pick it clean, and a lot of information will be lost forever.

Cordially,
Michael H. Standart

I had a feeling they would go after the telemotor on the bridge. I noticed during the ABC GMA show, during their dive, the telemotor was 'tagged' and had three notes left at its base ('claim' checks?). Too bad - one of the last moving symbols of the ship.