Piece of wood carving from the Titanic?

My grandad had the piece of wood carving shown in the picture in his shed for many years, and the story he told was that his father (my great grandfather) was a carpenter who worked on the Titanic in Belfast (my great-grandad was from Co. Durham, but travelled to Belfast for work before WWI). My grandad thought that the wood carving shown was from the Titanic itself, but I'm no expert and it's possible it was some sort of tall tale. I was just wondering if any of the members here had expertise in this sort of thing, and could advise on whether this style of carving looks like it could have come from the Titanic or a similar grand ship? Thank you!

Attachments

• IMG_20211224_210002328.jpg
    IMG_20211224_210002328.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 195
If I had to guess, it's not from the Titanic. At the time, the Titanic was a tragedy but no one sought to recover pieces of the wreckage. Any wood from the great ship is long gone.

Having said that, it's possible that it may be a piece of scrap wood from when the trim was being installed in the ship.

Does it have a number stamped on the back by any chance ?

The problem is that Belfast and Southampton in particular have seen thousands of "this was meant to be on the Titanic but was never delivered/installed on time" type of stories. 99% of them are not true.

If I had to guess, it's not from the Titanic. At the time, the Titanic was a tragedy but no one sought to recover pieces of the wreckage. Any wood from the great ship is long gone.

Having said that, it's possible that it may be a piece of scrap wood from when the trim was being installed in the ship.
Some wood from the ship's panneling and stairwells was recovered after the disaster. A few deckchairs too.

The carpenters from the ship's sent to recover bodies hauled aboard some wood that they subsequently worked into things like chessboards and decorative pieces.