Queen Victoria or Queen Mary

First of all, I am new to this so I hope that I am doing this right......Has anybody heard the story of the naming of the Queen Mary? I vaguely remember reading or hearing somewhere that when she was still hull no.534, some bigwig at Cunard was discussing the subject with King George and simply said something to the effect of: "would you mind us naming our new ship after Britain's greatest Queen" on which he replied: "Why you may certainly name your ship in honour of my wife". The bigwig at Cunard had to concede, as he was actually referring Queen Victoria.

Does anyone know more about this, or is this just another legend? I live in San Diego CA, USA, and have just recently been to the Queen Mary, and no one I talked to there could remember anything about it>

Steven, it's a good story, but it isn't true. The name was probably given to mark the combination of the Cunard line with White Star. It ended the tradition of giving Cunard ships names ending in "ia" and White Star ships being given names ending in "ic".

You'll have to take my word for it, but I think somebody on the forum has documentation.

While I'm at it, welcome to our merry band!

Also, the naming of ships after monarchs was at that time a privilege traditionally reserved for the Royal Navy and its greatest battleships. Likewise, the Queen Elizabeth was named after the wife of the ruling monarch King George VI, not Good Queen Bess. Even the Queen Elizabeth 2 was named as a reference to the original liner, not to the reigning monarch Queen Elizabeth II.

I seem to recall that Cunard had to persuade the owner of an existing Queen Mary to change the name of his little ship so the liner could be registered. Anybody know this tale?

Another tale is that the battleship Queen Elizabeth once met the liner Queen Elizabeth at sea. Some wag smartly signalled, "Snap!"