The Berlin stage theatre in 1912as erotic as it would be in the 1920s

German (Berlin) stage theatre in the 1920s was fascinating- very surreal, extremely erotic, quite a bit of crossdressing (women dressed as men)- I was curious if the level of eroticism that could be found in Berlin stage theatre in the 1920s was evident in 1912, or if Berlin stage theatre in 1912 was something quite different?

I'm by no means an expert on such matters, and cannot cite examples of particular shows, performers or venues, but I'm sure that there WAS raunchy entertainment on offer in Berlin in 1912 - if you knew where to look for it. The same would have gone for London, Paris, New York, Vienna...every taste would have been catered for although, unlike today, people generally chose not to shout about their more unusual or unorthodox predilections.

It absolutely goes without saying that any explicit or serious (i.e. not deliberately comical) reference to sex and cross-dressing in the mainstream theatre of the period would have been unheard of. In Great Britain the Lord Chamberlain had the power to ban any production of which he disapproved and I think once exercised this right to close down a stage version of Elinor Glyn's famously risque 'Three Weeks'.

British men have always loved getting themselves up in drag - just think of our pantomime tradition! And, throughout the Edwardian Era, Vesta Tilley was a major crowd-puller with her music-hall turn, in which she impersonated a dandy, top hat, tail-coat and all. Tilley was massively popular in both England and the States and, after her performance at the Royal Variety Show in 1912, was hailed by one critic as 'the most perfectly dressed young man in the house'. J. B. Priestley was rather less impressed and found Tilley neither funny nor convincing. I suspect that much of the appeal to late Victorian and Edwardian audiences lay in the sheer novelty of seeing a woman parading around dressed as a man.