Titanic novels with an all-historical cast?

RHeld

Have there been any Titanic novels that used an all-historical cast, no fictional characters at all? All it seems to be is a mix of historical and fictional ad nauseum.

Brad:

It wouldn't be a non-fiction account per se in that it would be a retelling told from the standpoint of "controlled imagination" (i.e. visualizing what it must have been like, what the real people might have thought and felt where there is no record of it, etc.) In sum, it would be the truth about the Titanic re-created like nothing else.

I don't see why a very engaging novel couldn't be constructed this way, but it would be a real undertaking. As a writer and editor, I can say that it would take exactly the RIGHT writer, not just any novelist. There are not many people with the right background to construct a historically accurate account of anything - the example would be the two sequels to "Gone With the Wind," both of which are inaccurate in texture, if not facts.

One problem in constructing a novel about RMS Titanic would be that many people hold some outlandish misconceptions about the ship. You know the kind I mean - the ones who think the ship's decors rivalled Versailles, that the hold was full of gold bars, Rolls-Royces and J.J. Astor's private railroad car, that complimentary jeroboams of Bollinger were provided for the purpose of brushing one's teeth, and that a breakfast of caviar and partridges was served in bed. I have no doubt that some of these people think Caledon Hockley in the Cameron film would have picked up the Heart of the Ocean in a Titanic gift shop.