Belfast Delivery Crew James Armstrong

Hi I've just come across this site and I see my great grandfather is the delivery crew to Southampton, the story of the family goes that he had slept in and missed the titanic ship sailing. He had worked in the ship yard at Belfast with his father since 1901 and I see that he was named as delivery crew so I would love to find out if there was any more information of his time on titanic as it only gives name and address. Would there be more details and how would he have got back to Belfast. It also showed last ship Treherbert but I can't find this and want does it mean... Is this a ship he last worked or travelled on as crew, where can I find the ship list as I'm trying to find his date of birth to find his mother's maiden name as I'm struggling to find this part of my ancestry. Thank you all kindly in advance. Sharonrose

Think I posted in passenger thread as I'm new to this sorry. I've been searching for years for any details of my great grandfather James Armstrong who worked in Hartland & Wolff shipyard since 1899 to 1912 as cementer and also told story of him missing the Titanic as he slept in that I found him as a delivery crew member to Southampton from Belfast so I guess he never got on to her maiden voyage and this is where he had missed the ship. It did show his last ship was Treherbert but I can't find his details on this nor any details on titanic except for his name and address Weir street Belfast but no date of birth or crew number, could anyone please help direct when I could find these details or how he would of returned to Belfast having missed getting back on to titanic for maiden voyage. Kind regards Sharonrose

You have here a family tradition which is only partly true. James indeed was in the crew that took Titanic from Belfast to Southampton. He was a fireman and was aged 31.