Bursting - Low Pressure Engine Cylinder

A low pressure engine cylinder can be found on the seabed beside the broken middle section in the debris field. Has this engine cylinder been carefully analysed to detect if there are any unusual markings or indentations other than landing on the seabed? I'm not an engineer, but can anyone hypothesize what this engine was doing in the moments leading up to the break up? e.g. Was it possible for this cylinder to burst and fracture the hull? Is part of the keel still attached underneath or was it simply held in place by its weight? Trying to figure out if this piece of machinery caused the hull to break or was a contributing factor to the break up.

If the ship was bending and was listing heavily to port, would this piece have been in operation while it was being pulled like a cracker? Would it snap and propel the pipes and gears into the hull, tearing the side open and breaking the ship in two?

cylinder.PNG

If it was not mounted onto the plates would the strong list to port cause it to slide over and crash through the side of the hull on the port side, breaking the ship open?

Last edited by a moderator:
Is that one of the forward LP cylinders from the main engines? If so I would have a guess that it would have been depressurised during the breakup as the engines were stopped and had been for some time.

Is that one of the forward LP cylinders from the main engines? If so I would have a guess that it would have been depressurised during the breakup as the engines were stopped and had been for some time.