New Film

Hey Guys,

My name is Kevin O’Neill and I’m a filmmaker from Cork. At the moment I’m developing a new film about the Lusitania, which we plan to shoot next year.

What is the film about?
The film is about people. The people onboard the Lusitania and the people involved in the rescue operation after it was torpedoed and explores what impact it would have had on their lives.

What is the film not about?
The film is not about the great ship itself. Nor will it explore the possibility that she was carrying munitions. It will not go into possible reasons for the sinking or anything like that.

We hope to bring something new and tell a story that hasn’t been told before.

I’m sure we’ll be regular visitors here to tap into your great knowledge of the liner and the disaster that was her sinking.

So to kick things off. We won’t be doing anything in Titanic proportions, like building a replica. Therefore for scenes taking place in places such as on the decks we will need some other ship to double, are their any, ideally in Europe that would look something like what the Lusitania did?

Thanks,
Kevin

Kevin,

This is an interesting project, and sounds like it has a lot of merit. Jim Kalafus and Mike Poirier are extremely knowledgeable on the people who were aboard, and they did the forward for my Lusitania book. If you drop me an e-mail through my web site, I will also be happy to help you out in any way that I can. Take care!

Just as long as you built a stunning replica of the 1st Class dining saloon... Then I can die a happy man. (Though a replica of the 1st Class lounge would just be cherry on top.)

As for using substitutes for the ship... Be careful, or your film could end up a campy patchwork ala "SOS Titanic."

>>Nor will it explore the possibility that she was carrying munitions.<<