The Test Of The Watertight Doors

steve b

In that book in which i posted on the Images thread, there was also an interesting piece that claimed Thomas Andrews conducted a test of the watertight doors complete with ringing bells while the ship was making its hour plus crossing across the English Channel. This was done so that Andrews could after the test assure the crew that it was in proper working order. Now, not being a man of the sea as many of you here are, but doesnt that seem like a bit of an odd time to conduct those tests? was it done prior to departure at any point? I mean, again im no expert, but that seems like the type of thing that would be done like say a few weeks minimum prior to sailing instead of waiting until the ship was at sea. Am i off base? im interested in knowing what you people in the know could shed light on in this subjec

Steve,

You are quite right. Tests like that are usually done before sailing. However, the closing of watertight doors and such is done at least once a week when a ship is under way for longer then 7 days. If the Chief Engineer for some reason thinks that there maybe a problem then he could request a test be done. One would assume that if Andrews thought there maybe something wrong that he could have requested a test as well.

Erik

That makes it all the more stranger then. If he know there was a problem, then why would the ship have been allowed to sail at all? Ok i see what your saying as i read it, i just thought it was one of those things that was done pre sailing, i wasnt aware it was a weekly process..Thjats actually kind of comforting in a strange way