Titanic VS Queen Mary

Hi everyone.... hope your all doing well! I recently drove to Los Angeles and saw the Queen Mary for the 1st time in my life and was a bit shocked to learn that the Queen Mary was about 136 feet LONGER than the Titanic! To be honest I was shocked cause for some reason I was under the impression that the Titanic was the bigger ship between the 2. I have been collecting original Titanic memoribillia for several years now and when I sat there in person with The Queen Mary sitting there before me and then learned that it was larger than my favorite ship, The Titanic... I was a bit disapointed! I know that sounds silly but after all the old footage , etc I had seen of the Titanic I guess I thought it would be bigger!
happy.gif
A man I work for said I need to remember that Titanic was the LARGEST ship of her time and ALOT of time has past since she sank... haha I guess cause I am partial to the Titanic I expected her to be BIGGER than any other ship..ever...period! Well anyway thats it for this post. Was anyone else out there aware that the Titanic was smaller than the Queen Mary???
Thanks for letting me vent!!
Take care all my fellow " Titanicans "
April

I knew about it.
happy.gif

What's more, if you go to the Maritime Matters site that Erik Wood and myself use all the time, you'll see news clips on existing and building vessels which are even larger. The Queen Mary II is supposed to be on the order of 150,000 tons. Compared to the floating condominiums which are proposed, even that ship will look like a bathtub toy.

Cordially,
Michael H. Standart

Hello April!

I was fascinated to read your thread giving your own impetus about this once beautiful ocean liner, the R.M.S Queen Mary . From my own personally experience, I already learned from my late grandfather that the Mary was much bigger in size than the Titanic.