Tool Manifest for Use of Engineers & Electricians

Seumas

Has any manifest survived of the number of and different kinds of tools provided for by the White Star Line for use by their engineering crews in an Olympic class ship's engine rooms, boiler rooms and dynamos ?

Were the engineers and electricians allowed to bring their own personal tools aboard if they so wished ?

Thank You.

Were the engineers and electricians allowed to bring their own personal tools aboard if they so wished ?
I'm sure they did. Most if not all electricians and mechanics have their own tool kits specialized for what works for them. I'm a retired electrician and Instrument and Control technican. I had (still have ) 4 different tool pouches and 2 tool bags plus a tool box full of different types of meters and test equiptment I used. They were all customize for different equipt I worked on. I'm sure it was the same in their day. The only exception to that was when I worked on aircraft in the Navy. You checked out a standardized tool kit. It was inventoried when you got it and re-inventoried when you checked it in. If a tool was missing the aircraft was grounded until it was found and accounted for. Only the authorized tool kits were allowed.

Seumas, I've been thinking about your question for a few days and would like to share some of the thoughts that have been rattling around in my head. I'm a mechanic by trade and a major tool addict.

• My gut tells me that most of the tools required for typical repairs and maintenance were likely provided by the company. Especially so for the reciprocating engines and other large equipment. Big parts = big tools that aren't moved around easily.
  • A personal tool kit would have been a luxury that the average Joe probably couldn't afford.