Who actually designed the Titanic?

If you believe the book "Shipbuilders to the World" , Titanic's designer Alexander Carlisle resigned from his post at Harland and Wolff because of personal problems with his brother-in-law Lord William James Pirrie and was then replaced by Pirrie's nephew Thomas Andrews.
It's also stated that Carlisle didn't agree with the changes Ismay and Pirrie wanted to make in his original designs (number of lifeboats , etc.).
For me , all this sounds a bit like Pirrie needed a man who didn't question his orders - and so he replaced Carlisle with Andrews.
It seems like Andrews never fought for a double hull or a greater number of lifeboats as it is said in most books written about the Titanic.
I also wonder what had happened to Andrews if he had survived the sinking. Would he have resigned from Harland and Wolff and would Pirrie have blamed him for what had happened ?

I really would like to hear your opinion on this.

Regards,

Corinna

I am not an expert on this but will take a stab at your post.

First, the ship withstood a lot of stress. More than it was expected to, so the strength of the ship was pretty good in my opinion.

Second, the ship davits could be made to hold more boats, and the H&W built the ship to BOT specs.

Guessing what would of happened if..... tend to be rather difficult questions to answer not being the people. But for Pirrie to balme Andrews would mean that H&W was at fault and I do not think that Pirrie believed that the builders were at fault.

In the world of contracting (and that is basically what H&W was) one must express what they feel is the best product. But it is the customer who is the ultimate decision maker as to what is included in any final design for anything. BOT did not require them, so it was left to the customer, if White Star had asked for them, H&W would have included them.

My two cents worth. And that is high!
Maureen.