Titanic making way after collision

Scott Mills

Greetings all, I am a long time avid amateur Titanic historian. Well, not really, I do gobble up books on the subject but retain much less than I would like.

In any regard, I was having a conversation with a friend, and fellow Titanic buff the other night about the centennial, which quickly devolved into an argument over whether or not Titanic made way after the collision on the night of April 14th.

I was sure that it had, while my friend denied this. His argument was that doing so would make no sense, which I agreed with, and postulated that Boxhall, on the initial sounding of the ship, reported no significant damage, and that with this assumption Captain Smith ordered the ship to begin making way again at half speed.

In the end though, I don't remember well enough if I am correct at all about her making way, let alone my explanation.

So my question to you all is did Titanic make way after the collision, and if so what is the explanation for this? No one in their right mind who knew the ship was damaged at all would have ordered this in the middle of the Atlanic, would they?

Hi Scott;

Have you read Walter Lord's books, A Night to Remember, or the sequel: The Night Lives On?

From page 68 of The Night Lives On, both survivors in the engine room:

Greaser Fred Scott thought the order of telegraph commands went:
STOP ENGINES -Wait 15-
SLOW AHEAD -wait 10-
STOP ENGINES-wait 5-
Slow ASTERN-wait 5-
Stop ENGINES

Trimmer Patrick Dillon thought:

-STOP ENGINES-

11:40- Grinding the iceberg-

SLOW ASTERN
SLOW AHEAD for 2 mins
Doesn't remember telegraph being set to Full Speed Astern as recalled 4/0 Boxhall

Quartermaster Olliver, running errands, remembers the telegraph being set at FULL SPEED AHEAD while laying dead in the water

So, yeah, there's alot of on-going debate about how, why, and when the engine telegraphs were set the way they were.