I'm new in my studies of the Titanic. I've been wondering about the Marconi operators. It seems to me that they should have been held partially responsible for not getting ice warnings to the bridge. Were they not required to do this? Did they work only to send and receive messages for the passengers? Seems that the entire collision could have been avoided had all of the ice warnings gotten to the bridge. Did requirements for Marconi operators change after the disaster?

Laurel

Dear Laurel,
The Marconi operators were not employed by the White Star Line but by the Marconi Company. You are correct when you say they worked only to send and receive messages for the passengers--this was their number one job as it made money for Marconi. They did send and receive other types of messages such as iceberg warnings but this was as a courtesy to White Star, and they were not required to deliver any messsages to the bridge. This policy was changed after the Titanic disaster.

G'day Laurel!

I'm afraid you have been misled somewhat by Tracey. The Marconi operators were employed by Marconi but were under Captain Smith's authority and signed ship's articles. They worked according to set priorities and the order was distress calls, government calls, master to master messages and passenger messages.

They were responsible for taking all messages addressed to the captain to the bridge, which they had to do in person, there being no telephone to the bridge. Messages for the captain were prefixed MSG for Masters' Service Gram.

The trouble was that the operators followed the rules to the letter. All messages marked MSG reached the bridge but others, most seriously the one from Mesaba, did not. The Mesaba message was merely marked Ice Report. The last warning from Californian was cut off because it was not in the correct form, thanks to sloppy work by Cyril Evans.