Spencer Silverthorne

I'm new to this so please bear with me. Does anyone out there know anything more about Spencer's family in Greenville, Michigan. I don't live more than a half hours drive from there and would find it interesting to see where he was born and lived etc. I had an uncle that was born near Greenville who was named Spencer who was killed in a car crash and I find it to be a bit erie. Any info on his family would be appreciated. Tieler.

Hi Tieler,
I don't know about relatives in Greenville-as that was his birthplace and he seems to have lived most of his life elsewhere. He married a younger woman and had two children, a daughter Elizabeth and a son Spencer Victor. Although the elder Mr. Silverthorne outlived his son, there are three grandsons living--one in suburban Dallas, Texas and two in the Philadelphia area.

Regards,
Phillip

Thank you very much for the information. I looked up Silverthorne on Yahoo's people finder and 6 different names came up as living in Greenville. That's why I was wondering if you knew if they had any relation because Greenville is not the largest of towns. Thank you very much once again. Tieler.

Regarding the Silverthornes in Greenville, I'd like to add that Spencer was the fifth of six children born to his father, Daniel, and his first wife, Elizabeth. His mother died when Spencer was four, his father remarried and they had six more children - Twelve Silverthorne offspring total (albeit one of whom died in infancy).

His birth siblings seem to have scattered about the country as Spencer did, but his father, stepmother, and most of his half-siblings remained in Michigan. I would imagine the current Silverthorne residents are of some relation to Spencer.

Spencer's first wife, Beulah Fowler was also from Greenville (she died a year or two after the Titanic sinking, their marriage produced no children). I haven't checked but you may find some of her relatives there as well.