Why couldn't Harland and Wolff build Titanic in the graving dock?

Tim Gerard

I was reading about how some of the larger ocean liners, such as Titanic and Mauretania, were constructed and launched. They slid the finished hull down a slipway into the water, and they were concerned about it tipping over before the entire hull was in water. Harland and Wolff did have the graving drydock for fitting out, so they could fill and drain the dock, so why couldn't they build a second graving dock and construct the ships entirely in there? When ready to launch they'd calculate the afloat drafts and fill the dock with water until it floats. That's a large part of what I do for a living for ships coming in for maintenance, and it's a much slow and more controlled (and probably much safer) process than sliding it down soap and animal fat.

A basic reason for not building in the graving dock was that H & W didn't own it. It belonged to the city of Belfast. Also, it was barely large enough to hold Titanic, let alone have room for workers and machines.

To this day, most ships are built on slipways and slid into the water. Some smaller ships are launched sideways, which is good fun to watch, as they almost capsize with a mighty splash.

Some ships, often cruise ships, are built in dry docks and floated out. They are built in large sections called blocks, which are built in places convenient to the dock and hoisted in by mighty cranes. A block may weigh a few hundred tons.

Years ago, I saw a ship launched Titanic style. The thing that surprised me was the noise. The ropes supporting the drag chains break as they complete their work. It sounds like a gun battle. Add the rumbling of the chains and it's quite a racket.

And for a real flop, see