Mail Bags In Wreck

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">If I remember rightly, there was some film shot of the mail room, which showed a sort of pinky substance growing on them forming a sort of 'carpet.' Perhaps that sort of protected them for a bit? Just a bit of info. I'm no expert on decay. Well, it's more like a guess.

It was in the program shown March 1995 with George Tulloch and others, but I haven't seen it for ages and am only speaking from memory.

Best regards,

Mark.

Hello Mark,

Thanks for your input. This was a question that my neighbor wanted to put on the message board (I was also interested). It does seem fairly reasonable that the pink "carpet" could have something to do with the preservation of the mail bags (I belive there were 200 on board).

I have heard rumors that Titanic, Inc. is trying to get the right to remove objects from inside the ship, and that the mail bags will be removed. However, that was six years ago, so how do we know they haven't all ready decayed in that time?

How and why different objects have decayed and been preserved on the Titanic always fascinates me.

If anyone has anything else to add here, I would love to hear it. I would also like to hear whether or not you feel the mail bags are still down there after six years.

-B.W.

hello Brandon and Mark,

It's my guess that the mail bags are made of canvas, and are non-palatable to the marine life down at Titanic. I've seen the video you gentlemen are talking about, and I think maybe the reason that no mail has been removed is because nobody has been able to get a submersible large enough to move the mail bags from that far inside the wreck. If memory serves me correctly, RMST Inc wanted to cut into the hull to remove artifacts, but their entrance was barred by a court in Virginia.

hope this helped,

-Dean

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">RMST Inc wanted to cut into the hull to remove artifacts, but their entrance was barred by a court in Virginia.